Saturday Blogger Interviews – Blogger Katie

Image

 Name: Katie

Location: West Midlands, England

Age: 21

Blog link: http://www.tattyboots.blogspot.com

Facebook/Twitter: @tattyboots

 

Name three words to describe your blog:

– personal

– creative

– progressive

When did you first start blogging: It was back in early 2011, a couple of months after I had just started university. It felt like the perfect time in a sense, an opportunity to try my hand at something rather new to me.

Why did you begin to blog: This may seem a little funny but I believe I owe part of my interest with blogging to the online game Neopets. When I was 12 I was a massive fan and after a couple of months I began to create websites which offered free graphics to others to use on their accounts. I remember teaching myself the basics of html/css and then getting involved in photoshop. As I got older and the internet got more exciting I found these graphics progressing into other kinds of graphics that people could use on myspace for instance, such as backgrounds and layouts. I still remember the thrill I got from creating and getting to know the community back then which is exactly the same thrill I get today. A few years past and I found myself leaving my tom-boy ways when it came to clothing and really finding myself interested in style. It was this personal change that helped me discover a few fashion blogs and I was hooked ever since. I loved the fact I could learn from them, I often found myself saying ‘I’ll try that combination’ or ‘Maybe I’ll try wearing a skirt’. They helped me discover what I liked and disliked and especially what clothes suited me. Since then I was eager to get involved but being a painfully shy 16-17 year old it really restricted me. It wasn’t until a few years later at university that I designed a blog heading using a few simple photoshop skills remembered from the previous years of Neopets and went ahead and created Tattyboots.

 What’s one blogging tip that you would share with other potential bloggers: Having variety in what you post is something I think is key for keeping things fresh and exciting, not just for your audience but for yourself. It’s incredibly easy to become bored with your blog so posting an outfit one day and then reviewing your favourite book the next seems far more exciting than sticking to one topic. Everyone has more than one thing they enjoy so why not share it? I think people can worry too much over what people want to see so you tell yourself ‘nah, I won’t post about that – no one will like it’. I’m definitely guilty of that in the beginning, I focused more on outfits than anything else but then my drawings soon crept in, they were never as popular as my outfit posts but it didn’t stop me sharing them. Through drawing it helped expand a new audience that I may have never achieved through just posting outfits, so never be scared to try out new things.

 Do you see yourself still blogging in three/five years time: Sure, if it’s still around then why not! I get a real pleasure from it, especially when it comes to sharing illustrations for instance as feedback is what helps me to understand what are my strengths and weaknesses.

 What’s one of the best things about being a blogger: For me it’s knowing that folks seem to like what I do, it has also given me opportunities such as my most recent which is designing the poster and tickets for a creative magazine called Prototype. That would never have happened I imagine without the blog.

 Has blogging helped you significantly in any other way: It’s helped me become more comfortable in myself as a person and as a creative, especially recently I dauntingly decided to offer blogger designs. I remember putting it off for months due to not believing in myself so I’m glad I followed that through as I was contacted by a few people which really warmed my heart. It’s also got me communicating with a whole bunch of other people I just wouldn’t have known without going into blogging. Also another perk is when I find myself in one of those moods where I cannot figure out what to wear so I’ll have a browse through the blog, you know it’s surprising how useful that has actually been for me haha!

One comment

  1. This is lovely, thank you, was a pleasure! x

    Also, I probably confused you a bit but I started uni in 09 but got confused due to having a tumblr then but then went onto blogger haha! again sorry for the confusion xxx

...

