4 Things I wish I knew before I came to University…

So just a few more weeks and my first year fresher life will be up and I’ll be going on Summer break and coming back a second year student! My life as a fresher has had its good points and its bad points and its damn well ugly points! So I was thinking what things do I wish I had known before I came to University last September? Well…

  1. Loans and Overdrafts run out VERY quick, It’s all cool when you look into your bank balance and you see a shining beautiful sum of cash within the thousands, but believe me that runs out faster than you can blink. I discussed this a lot of the time with my friends about where our money goes when we have nothing and everyone says roughly the same thing ‘I don’t even know what it got spent on?!?!’ Many times have I withdrawn £20 and the next day it’s all gone and all I have to show for it is a packet of crisps and a basic shop? I’m not sure if there is a magical Uni overdraft stealing fairy but I wish I listened to people who warned me before I came that money goes so quickly.
  2. Pre-meeting your flatmates helps A LOT! I only met one flat mate before I moved in and we met over Facebook, but now looking back to it everyone had already met everyone by the time they got to Uni so I felt like that’s probably something I should have thought about before hand.
  3. I will be kissing goodbye the luxuries I enjoyed everyday. Now looking back I wish I didn’t take things like sweets, magazines and such for granted because now I rarely get a chance to get them because I’m so broke.
  4. Bring extra cutlery. It’s not cool when you have someone over for dinner and you only have one set of cutlery and one plate…Awkward. Plus a lot of the time people either take/steal or ‘borrow’ your kitchen ware which can get annoying as most of it never actually returns! When I first came to University we only packed like one plate, few bowls and cups and couple knives and forks but by the end of my second semester I had like one plate left in my possession. BUY EXTRA!

Well that’s a little bit more about Uni for you 🙂

signiture

 

puppy-reading graduation_cap_with_tassel

