Family Visit #2, Scorpion candy and a lot of walking!

So again I didn’t sleep very well last night and I had an early morning start as my parents were visiting which meant I was completely shattered and in zombie mode, but despite this I was extra excited to see my parents because I haven’t seen them in a few months since I got back to Uni. This was the best visit ever as I’ve really felt a bit exhausted lately and this was the pick me up that I needed- so smiles all round! 🙂

We spent the day venturing through Leeds, we started out by having breakfast in Becketts Bank (Wetherspoons) and all ordered the standard traditional fry up! It was pretty tasty, so with my tummy filled we went to the new Trinity shopping centre (a second day trip here in a row for me) and I showed them all the new and vibrant shops that were attracting Leeds residents by the dozens! Despite the odd scramble for the escalators it seemed to be busy but alright. My parents haven’t really ever had the chance to roam around Leeds so I took this opportunity to show them all around, the walking has literally killed my feet but it was worth it! One place we went to was the Corn Exchange and I got to show them the restaurant I used to work at previously, then we made our way towards the market gazing into all the different shop windows as well strolled. The weather was not as bad as yesterday still horribly cold but least there was sunshine so I guess every cloud has a silver lining.

One interesting shop we came across that I only discovered today as well was ‘Culture Vulture’ a cute little shop that sells all unique and creative clothing, things like Adventure Time jumpers and Moomin teddies, retro bags, arcade game belt buckles and hand made unique jewelry, in one of the pictures below you’ll see a really adorable looking tote bag I saw in there that says ‘Pugs not Drugs’ with a little pug on it! So productively moving on with our day we went to another american sweet shop but this one had real dead scorpions in lolly pops (Slightly cruel?) But I think I know what I’m going back to buy tomorrow…(Just so everyone knows, you don’t eat the scorpion inside! haha)

I got a really cute Hello Kitty onesie today as well, my room always being similar to the Arctic is no natural habitat for me so I got a snuggly onesie so I don’t catch a cold! But we ended the day with a nice dinner out where I got a really nice cheesy lasagna (a personal favourite) but I got more of the plate than I did actual food because the portion size was something resembling a child’s school dinner! So my parents being lovely let me order a excellent Belgium waffle with ice cream and a tangy fruit compote- so I was over the moon as I love food!
So all in all it was a really lovely day 🙂

photo (85) photo (84) photo (82)

photo (83) photo (86)

